Going Home!   Leave a comment

10:30pm, gate 31, across from us is Lady #1, 70 something with snow white hair and a gentle expression. She’s filing her nails and everything about what she does and how she looks reminds me so much of my Nanny (bless her cotton socks!). Next to her sits Lady #2, East Indian, a touch younger and wearing a traditional sari. I watch to see if they strike up a conversation…they don’t. Along comes Lady #3 who has that worn, north of England, worked hard since she was 13 kind of look (I swear I know what her accent will be when she talks). Have they all just left their grown children, the ones that ventured to this country many years ago to begin a new life and family? Are they now on their way back home to an empty house? Lady #1 is soon wheeled away to prepare for boarding. #2 finally breaks the ice by starting a conversation with #3 who displays a toothless grin. I smile and find myself hoping they will be seated together.

Jumping into the seat like it’s a bouncy castle is Kid #1, not more than 7, travelling alone. Well, not completely alone because 2 seats over is Kid #2, a boy maybe a year older. The 3rd seat is the empty one between them. It acts as a barrier because, you know, boys think girls are icky and girls think boys are gross. It’s clear they’re not related and once again, I find myself watching to see who, if anyone, will speak first? I can’t tell what the girl said but Kid #2 laughs. A fleeting friendship doomed to fail because I see them on board later…seated apart.

Almost immediately after take-off, we hit some turbulence…or as I like to call it “Yay, we’re flying!” Smooth flights have never been my thing, they bore me. I like to feel as if I’ve left the ground, otherwise, I may just as well have taken the bus (yes, okay, I do know there is no bus across or under the Atlantic). For me, the flight is not just a means of getting from point A to point B, it’s part of the journey so it’s a bonus when there’s a little roller-coaster action.

We’re already off to a good start because, unlike our last flight, there is no child screaming, and I DO mean screaming, “Let me off the plane, I wanna get off the plane” (seriously, I love kids, but it took 3 flight attendants to hold me back ‘cuz I was about ready to open the door for her!). So, any flight that doesn’t begin with an outburst like that is a plus in my books. But wait, suddenly something invades not my ears, but my nostrils. PERFUME!! Seriously, in the enclosed confines of an airplane, who squirts that stuff?

Head shoved into a cap and wearing a mask over her mouth and nose, I half expect Sleeper #1 to wake up and ask for a scalpel (the fact that she is also wearing an eye mask makes me think that won’t happen). To top off the ridiculous looking get-up, an inflatable neck pillow is shoved under her hoodie. Sleeper #2 is a 20-something Asian guy about 6 feet tall. He’s out for the count from before take-off until we finish taxi-ing upon arrival at Gatwick. His legs are so long, I’m sure he’s playing footsie with the heels of the guy in front!

So, as you can probably tell by now, I’m not a sleeper, at least not on planes. Not because I can’t, I can literally sleep at any time, in any place and any circumstance. But I love the entire atmosphere of a trip when flying is involved…everything from the excitement of check-in, to watching people arrive and depart from all corners of the globe. So, in the words of Michael Buble, “Another aeroplane, another sunny place, I’m lucky I know. But I wanna go home, I got to go home.” Who am I kidding about another sunny place? Well, it maybe England, but it’s still home!

Posted August 26, 2011 by Jaclyn in Family, Memories, Travel

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

Enter your comments in the space below

