Shoulda Just Stayed in Bed   Leave a comment

Or as I like to call it, ‘A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Rest Of My Life – Episode 1’.

My life today was one big trip…and I mean that literally. Picture it, running up and down the stairs at least 6 times this morning while getting ready for work (not for my morning exercise, I might add, but because my memory has packed its bags and moved to some top-secret, undisclosed location).  So, you’re thinking I fell down the stairs, aren’t you? Well, you’d be wrong. HA! I don’t do things like that, that would be normal. I fell UP them….3 times I fell UP them. Who does that? Me, that’s who!

So, work was good, nothing untoward seemed to have occurred today (but then maybe it did and I just can’t remember!). But as soon as I set foot outside at 5, of course I immediately found that rock, or that hole, or whatever is was just waiting to trip me up. Fortunately, I managed to maintain my balance and not fall on my oh-so-delicate rear (stop snickering!).

“So, how was the drive home?”, I hear you ask? Not so good, I’m sorry to tell you. I sneezed about 4 or 5 times and during the second to last one I managed to poke myself in the eye, blurt out some unladylike terminology (which I never do), sneezed once more and ended up in the ditch at the side of the road. I tried explaining my story to the guy with the weed-wacker but I think he thought I was a bit of a ‘weed-wacked job’ myself!

Eventually I make it to my front door, walk in and yell (as I always do) “Honey, I’m home” and I’m greeted with the usual licks, pants and the general trying to climb up my leg. If you don’t already know, Honey is my pup who immediately races me to the basement as though she has something she wants to show me. She looks so proud as she stands in front of my nail file/emery board, which is lying on the floor half-eaten. Could she be trying to sharpen her fangs for those times when she doesn’t get her way? But then all at once, the cute factor kicks in as she does that puppy pounce thing over it. Does she seriously think I’m going to pick it up and throw it like a stick? Yes, I really think she does! FETCH!!!

So, what’s your vote…should I get up tomorrow?

Enter your comments in the space below

