How Rude!!!   2 comments

Thank You

A couple of weeks ago, I had the pleasure of directly encountering three ill-mannered people in one weekend. They weren’t out-and-out rude to my face but they didn’t use the magic word that the majority of us are taught from a young age. I always glance behind to ensure the door I let go of isn’t going to smash someone up side the head and if someone is behind me, I hold it. So if one more person flounces through without uttering a single (nice!) word, I swear I’m gonna sock it to ’em because, seriously, enough is enough!

I have a script in my head, all I need now is a victim. Murphy’s Law dictates that because I have a plan, every person I meet will be so polite. But I know they’re out there, I just have to wait.

Monday morning, Tim’s coffee in hand as I leave, I hold the door for a guy just coming in for his. He walks through and the conversation goes like this:

Me: “You’re welcome!”
Him (with a puzzled look): “What did you say?”
Me: “I said you’re welcome”.
Him (still looking puzzled): “Oh”
Me: “Well, when someones says thank you, most people say you’re welcome”.
Him: “I didn’t say thank you”
Me: “Yeah, I noticed”
…and away I walked!

As I sat in my car ready to back out of my parking spot, I had a clear view of the guy standing in line. Head hanging down, for a nano-second I thought maybe he’s having a pang of conscience about his lack of common courtesy. Then, as he turned slightly, I realized he was simply counting out change for his coffee.

I wasn’t taught good manners like I was taught mathematics or biology. It’s an inherent trait, something that I simply absorbed from the good people around me. It’s not complicated. A good deed, a helping hand, an open door or a plate of food – the conveyors of these things and more are all deserving of gratitude. To the majority of us, it’s like taking a breath each day. There is no thought process, it just happens organically.

Was the guy thinking about our encounter and making a promise to himself to do better? Or did he simply not give me a second thought? Maybe I’m jaded but I tend to lean towards the latter. I guess I’ll never find out (unless by some miracle he reads this) but our encounter made me feel better and that was my plan. Except now I feel bad because maybe I made him feel bad and that’s not how I want to be.

I may have to rethink my approach on this matter. Stay tuned, there may be a second installment…oh, and by the way, thanks for reading this post!

Posted February 22, 2014 by Jaclyn in Random, Words

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “How Rude!!!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re Welcome!

Enter your comments in the space below

