A Swift Kick In The You-Know-Where!   2 comments

Padlocks

Hacked…the very word brings a shiver to my soul and horrible images go along with it. Obviously I’m not talking about the 21st century definition. But I’ve just contacted everyone I know in my email address book and told them “I’ve been hacked.” I wish now that I had used another word but which one?

Burgled? I wasn’t burgled because nothing was stolen…or was it? Something was taken from me, that’s for sure. Not physically but a gargantuan chunk of my online peace of mind is now gone.

I always thought I was extremely diligent when doing anything that involved surfing the web but apparently I wasn’t, or at least I wasn’t diligent enough.

I never email personal information, I don’t stay logged into my email or banking sites when I’ve finished using them and I have a really strong password. Aha, there it is, notice the singular – password.

As I said, mine was strong but I used it everywhere, for all my accounts, and the stupid thing is, I knew it was the wrong thing to do but never got around to fixing it. If ‘they’ got into my email, who knows what else ‘they’ can access? Well, this is my wake-up call.

I liken it to different doors. Each password is the door to something I choose to protect and each door should have its own key. Not only do I now have unique ‘keys’ for each online place I choose to enter, but once in a while, I will also change the locks (so to speak), which I also never did.

We’re all well aware of the dangers that lurk in cyberspace and, if you’re anything like me, many of us become complacent about Cyber Crime Prevention. That’s why, every once in a while, we all need a good kick up the backside and I’m happy to oblige in that department. So, here’s me kicking you up the backside and offering no apologies as I do it.

In all my years of web and email usage, this has never happened to me. Has it happened to you? If so, how did you feel? If not, well, there’s still time….

Posted March 13, 2014 by Jaclyn in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

2 responses to “A Swift Kick In The You-Know-Where!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re a Mac user. Look into 1password. I recommend it often.

    • Will do. Brian mentioned that too. Although having multiple passwords is a great way to give my memory a work out (and believe me, it needs a workout sometimes…)…I’m guessing 1password will take that away but I’ll look into it for sure!

Enter your comments in the space below

