A Final Afternoon in Venezia   2 comments

Narrow Canal

Narrow Canal

Fondamenta Zattere al Ponte Lungo – a promenade on the south side of Dorsoduro. It seems to directly translate to ‘foundation of rafts’ but don’t worry, it’s not a 1.5km walk along floating rafts.

Timber was delivered here beginning in the 16th century for the construction of buildings and ships. Now, the Zattere is a concrete stroll stretching from San Basilio to the tip at Punta della Dogano di Mare. Have your camera ready for the many notable buildings and monuments or simply stroll, like I did, and enjoy the view.

I work in a Palace – how cool would that be to say? These once-upon-a-time palaces are now government buildings filled with bureaucrats. I hope they appreciate their surroundings although I’m sure the inside looks nothing like it did in its heyday.

How in the world did I get here? – a woman’s head sticking out of a building spoke to me (well, she didn’t actually speak to me, but you know what I mean).  I looked at her face and with her eyes slightly sideways, she seemed to be saying “How in the world did I get here?”. I ask myself that sometimes, when I’m not on vacation. I guess we all do!

Female Head

Entrecôte e Insalata – okay, so I’m not in Paris but this little corner bistro is where I had the best entrecôte (rib-eye steak) I have ever had in my life. And now you’re going to shoot me because I can’t recall the name of it (believe me, I even checked to see if I kept the receipt!). Don’t you just hate it when someone tells you about a great spot to visit but then doesn’t tell you the name or how to get there? Sorry! But it is near the Ponte delle Academia bridge. Oh, and it was only 15 euros ($20 CDN) with a bottle of water thrown in.

Two Dogs

Four Legged Venetians – I never take my dog to a busy place with pedestrians. She’s too skittish. But here in Venice, the dogs simply trot alongside their owners amid hordes of people and through the narrowest of streets. Even the smallest don’t seem concerned with getting stepped on or run over by the many suitcases being dragged up and over the bridges and along the cobbles. They’re obviously urbanized and street-wise!

One little pup walked up and plonked himself right down in front of me, a move that basically told the owner “I’m going nowhere until this nice lady pets me”. Then he gave me the longest stare as if to say “It’s okay, I know you miss your four legged friend. Pet me instead!”. And once I do, off he trots.

Next stop, Trieste, Italy.

Posted June 21, 2015 by Jaclyn in Holidays, Italy, Travel

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “A Final Afternoon in Venezia

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for dropping by. Yes, mine could never be a city dog either but it was very cool to see.

  2. A great post on Venice and some fab photos! And don’t you just love all the little woofs in Venice – they are so friendly and well behaved too – I’d never trust my old dog to walk off the lead but in Venice its the norm which is great! Happy chatting to fluffy friends!

Enter your comments in the space below

