Trieste – Last Stop in Italy   Leave a comment

Le Sartine

Le Sartine

Trieste – two hours east of Venice lies the town of Trieste, near the border with Slovenia. In the square, Piazza dell’ Unita, there are beautiful neoclassical buildings on 3 sides and on the 4th, the ocean. Workers escape their offices to hang out at lunch time at the concrete promenade and bathe in the sun. We’re only here for 45 mins, just enough time to grab a few shots and hang out in the sunshine.

Leaving Trieste, Italy, we travel for a short while through Slovenia to get to the border checkpoint at Pasjak. When the guards learn I’m the only one who is not a resident of a European Union country, they climb on board, hunt me down and stamp my passport. When the guard leaves, I wave my passport to the other passengers, do a little dance in my seat and sing “I got a special stamp“. They were all jealous but it was all good natured and in good fun. After all, don’t you love getting your passport stamped? I do. As we drive away, I see the signs ‘Dobrodošli u Hrvatsku’ (Welcome to Croatia)!

Next stop, Opatija, Croatia.

Posted June 22, 2015 by Jaclyn in Architecture, Holidays, Italy, Travel

Tagged with , , , ,

Enter your comments in the space below

